Chrome Sync

One of the nicest features of Chrome is the sync between various devices: Desktop, laptop, iPod, etc. All of them will be synchronized with the same book marks, open tabs, passwords, etc. I had a small glitch that arose as follows: I bought my desktop after my laptop, and I installed my files from the laptop’s Time Machine backup. As a result, the following directory was placed on the desktop machine:

~/Library/Application Support/Google/Chrome

which contains Chrome’s configuration, preferences and caches. Thus, on my desktop Chrome was running with the preferences from my laptop. One of the ways that this manifested itself was that the laptop and the desktop were seen by the Chrome sync process as one and the same. The way to fix it was simple; delete the directory above, and reinstall Chrome. Here is a related post.

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *